On January 1 Bill let me know that he was giving up meat, eggs and cheese for 2012 and alcohol for the next 3 months in an effort to be more healthy.  While this would require major changes for both of us, I was happy to embrace his decision and support him.  He didn’t ask me to give everything up, but I will be trying to follow along closely regardless.  Truth be told, my cholesterol was higher than expected at my last checkup and I could stand to cut back on (or cut out) butter and cheese which are my biggest weaknesses.  If I have to give up some other things I like in the process, so be it.  I also decided to give up coffee for this year.

We went to a New Year’s party at friends house and that was our first challenge, but he held strong despite the smell of pork BBQ wafting through the entire house and greeting us at the door as we entered.  He even ate carrots (there weren’t a lot of fruits and veggies to choose from).  I did have a small bowl of chilli and a beer, bot skipped the cheese and sour cream.  Let’s ease into this…

